The Soane Honors

Thank you for your support of the Soane Honors on October 26, 2023. This year was an incredible success for Sir John Soane’s Museum as the Soane Foundation honored two outstanding figures who embody the Soanean spirit:

Madison Cox is an internationally acclaimed garden designer who has created hundreds of acres of private gardens around the world. He is celebrated both as a designer and as an author and lecturer. Mr. Cox is currently the president of the Fondation Pierre Berge-Yves Saint Laurent, Paris and the Fondation Jardin Majorelle, Marrakech.

Scott Pask is an American scenic and costume designer. A veteran of Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Opera, he has won three Tony Awards for his work on The PillowmanThe Coast of Utopia, and The Book of Mormon. Mr. Pask received two Tony Award nominations this year for his scenic designs of Some Like it Hot and Shucked. 

Based in New York City, the Foundation supports Sir John Soane’s Museum in London and offers a rich and growing array of lectures, travel opportunities, and fellowships for young scholars to study the Museum and its collections.

We are most grateful for your friendship and generosity. 

Every year the Soane Foundation celebrates Sir John Soane’s singular contributions as an architect and educator by bestowing The Soane Honors on present-day innovators, leaders, and visionaries in the fields of architecture, design, urban planning, preservation, and philanthropy at a celebratory gala dinner in an architecturally significant venue in New York City. Honors proceeds benefit Sir John Soane’s Museum Foundation and ultimately the Soane Museum in London.


Madison Cox – Landscape Design

Scott Pask – Scenic Design


Wolf Burchard – The Metropolitan Museum

Luke Ives Pontifell – Thornwillow Press


Frederick A. Bland – Beyer Blinder Belle, Landmarks Preservation Commission

Miguel Flores-Vianna, photographer and writer


Thierry Despont – The Office of Thierry Despont

The Athenaeum of Philadelphia


Stephen Alesch and Robin Standefer – Roman and Williams

Hall of Architecture – Carnegie Museum of Art


David Chipperfield – David Chipperfield Architects

Amy Meyers – Yale Center for British Art


Thomas Phifer – Thomas Phifer and Partners

Michael Bierut – Pentagram


Annabelle Selldorf – Selldorf Architects

Charles Jencks

Thomas Heatherwick – Heatherwick Studio


David Adjaye – Adjaye Associates

Phyllis Lambert – Founder, Canadian Center for Architecture (CCA)


Norman Foster, Lord Foster of Thames Bank OM – Foster and Partners

The Frank Lloyd Wright Archives Partnership with Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University and The Museum of Modern Art


Diller Scofidio + Renfro (DS+R) with Architects and Designers Elizabeth Diller, Ricardo Scofidio, Charles Renfro

Michael Bruno, Founder of 1stdibs


Allan Greenberg – Allan Greenberg Architects

A salute on the 20th Anniversary to the Founders of the Soane Foundation in the United States, past Board and Advisors


A. Eugene Kohn – Kohn Pedersen Fox Architects (KPF)

Susan Weber – Founder and Director of the Bard Graduate Center

Yale University Press accepted by John Donatich


Jaquelin T. Robertson – Cooper Robertson Architects

Charles Miers and David Morton – Rizzoli International Publications


Robert A. M. Stern – Robert A. M. Stern Architects (RAMSA)

The Monacelli Press accepted by Gianfranco Monacelli


Richard H. Driehaus

David Macaulay, author and illustrator

Sign up for our latest news